Types of Continuing Care Retirement Communities Explained

Types of Continuing Care Retirement Communities Explained

You could think about living in a Continuing Care Retirement Community, typically called a life plan community. As older persons advance through the stages of aging, CCRCs deliver virtually everything they would need.

In addition, they modify their services to meet the changing needs of those folks. This eliminates the need for seniors to relocate and lets them live in the same place their entire lives. For senior citizens, CCRCs are an excellent choice. To find out what they are, keep reading!

Similarities Between CCRCs & Life Care Retirement Communities

CCRC and Life Care Retirement Communities offer members a lifestyle that includes on-campus comforts, services, and facilities, including banks, beauty salons, workout facilities, and more. The ability of these types of continuing care facilities to provide residents with a full spectrum of lifestyle alternatives, from independent living to assisted living and skilled nursing care, is probably their most significant benefit.

Whether a facility is known as a CCRC or LPC, they all typically offer at least these choices:

Independent Living

Senior citizens who like to live individually but still value having access to help with healthcare, meals, and housekeeping when needed may find independent living an ideal fit. One meal each day is served in a cafeteria in many independent living facilities. Consider this Wisteria place independent living community if you’re looking for a place to retire.

Assisted Living

Assisted living is for elderly citizens who can live independently but need support with a few daily duties, such as cooking, cleaning, and managing their prescriptions. A pharmacy is often seen in assisted living facilities.

Skilled Nursing Care

People who require competent, licensed nursing care and medical attention should live in this type of community. People who have experienced a major stroke, those with severe heart, kidney, or lung diseases, and those who aren’t mobile may fall under this category.

Understanding a CCRC Contract

Once you’ve decided on a community, carefully examine the contract. There are three main types of these agreements:

Extensive Life-Care Contract (Type A)

The cost of this choice is the highest, however it provides all services. You can receive unlimited medical care, specialist nursing care, and supported living, for instance, at little to no additional cost. Check amenities and other benefits offered here by a reputable facility.

Modified Contract (Type B)

There are just very few services provided under this agreement. Higher monthly rates apply to additional services.

Fee-for-Service Contract (Type C)

Residents shell out for needed services, such as assisted living, skilled nursing, or memory care, even if the initial registration rate may be less.

Continuing care retirement community agreements are significantly complex, so whichever form you obtain, confirm it by a legal representative before signing. Some facilities also offer a rental contract, Type D, and an equity agreement to acquire a piece of your unit instead of an admission fee, Type E. Follow this link to learn more about the costs.


It is impossible to exaggerate exactly how vital peace of mind is when choosing a Continuing Care Retirement Community. This is because your concerns over future medical care are resolved when you move into a CCRC. It gives you and your family members peace of mind in addition to yourself. They don’t have to be concerned about you. And no one needs to worry that you’ll wind up in a place that doesn’t support the retirement you had in mind.